Ramadan – my thoughts and some points.

Ramadan is the month that we can feel how the less fortunate feels. So I try not to cut back on things. I don’t suddenly sleep more or work less just because it’s Ramadan. Test your limits, word hard, pray hard and appreciate it all.

This made me realize how strong us Muslims are – hot, hungry, thirsty, and not allowed to complain about it otherwise our fast for Allah won’t be accepted. I love how it’s trying to show us Muslims that we CAN do anything, and after Ramadan we always look back and think… “wow, how did I survive to that?”. Islam tests our limits, teaches us discipline, shows us how lucky we are to have food and water, in hopes that we can become better, stronger and more wholesome human beings. // Fasting is only 1% of not eating and drinking. The rest of the 99% is bringing your heart and soul closer to Allah. 

Ramadan helps you overcome addictions such as, smoking. Smoking is still on-going in my village in Thailand. I see that after breaking their fast or after Tarawih prayers they like to continue on with their habit. But not just at home, they like to do it in front of the mosque after prayer. I don’t like it one bit. If I happened to make a complaint, I don’t think they’ll listen to a 21 year old. But I do want the imaan to encourage them not to do such a thing (even though the imaan does smoke too). I don’t know what to do. (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

Ramadan encourages people to help one another. Giving zakat (charity) and helping around the house. Not only just women should do all of the cleaning and cooking, the men should start to know that women are not their housemaids, they are their partners. Giving charity is a number one priority, to me. My family has given our friends/workers who are poor; large packets of rice, a box of dates (to break their fast and not to mention, it really helps endure hunger), sugar and cream soda? It’s like those colored liquids that make the water turned into a sweet drink. I hope that this will benefit them during month of Ramadan. I’m not trying to brag on what my family does, but they are in need… A LOT.

I’m currently studying more and more and reading the Qur’an as I go during the month of Ramadan before going back to the US once again. I may need your du’as in the progress because I’m unsure if I can do it. I have friends that gave me the encouragement but I’m still scared, lol. Thank you for your time. :’)

Self-reminder before breaking the fast – The prophet said the one that makes du’a just before they break their fast, Allah will accept it and not reject it. Don’t be distracted by the food guys and make du’a before.

✨ If this is the Ramadan you’re praying your solat (salaah) regularly for the first time, or have opened the Qur’an after a very long while. If you swore for the first time that you won’t come close to a sin you usually commit or battling the depression within the sake of feeling like a so called ‘real Muslim’ then I pray that this Ramadan will help you start anew. Ameen.

A quote that I sincerely saw this morning is: 

“If fasting was simply about feeling like the poor and hungry, God would not make the poor and hungry fast.”  – Sheikh El Shaarawy

Have a blessed Ramadan everyone, and may any tests this month be easy for you to face. ❤

IMG_20180212_211621_403

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.